Birkenshaw CE (C) Primary School

Life at Birkenshaw CE (C) Primary School Life at Birkenshaw CE (C) Primary School Life at Birkenshaw CE (C) Primary School Life at Birkenshaw CE (C) Primary School Life at Birkenshaw CE (C) Primary School Life at Birkenshaw CE (C) Primary School

Diary Dates Summer Term 2024

Please find below a list of all our diary dates for this half term.

Further details about events will be shared via Parentmail and/or letters nearer each event.

 Please check our website for a weekly update. 

We could also add other events and activities to the diary throughout the term. 

 

SCHOOL REOPENS ON TUESDAY 4th JUNE

Monday 3rd June

INSET day (4 of 5). School Closed for the children.

Wednesday 5th June - pm

Year 6 Charity Event (details sent via Parentmail)

Thursday 6th June

Civic War Society to visit Year 6

Thursday 6th June - pm

Gold Treat for selected children

Week beginning 10th June

Year 4 multiplication check period (see letter for further details)

Week beginning 10th June

Year 1 phonics screening week (see letter for further details)

Year 2 phonics screening week for selected children (see letter for further details)

Monday 10th June & Tuesday 11th June

Pedestrian Training – Year 3 (Leopard on 10th, Zebra on 11th)

Wednesday 12th June & Thursday 13th June

Pedestrian Training – Year 5

Wednesday 12th  June - pm

Gold Treat for selected children

Friday 14th June

FOBs Father’s Day shop in school (details sent via Parentmail – preorders only on Parentpay)

Week beginning 17th June

Assessment week for Year 2, Year 3, Year 4, Year 5

Tuesday 18th June

Choir to attend Kirklees Music Festival (Selected children)

Wednesday 19th June – 7pm

New Reception Parents Meeting (for parents of children who are starting Reception in September 2023)

Friday 21st June

World Music Day (themed day in school). Children invited to dress up linked to music

Monday 24th June

10:00am and 1:30pm

Teddy Bears Picnic for New Reception children

Dragonfly Class 10am

Butterfly Class 1:30pm

Monday 24th June – 7:30pm

FOBS meeting in school

Tuesday 25th June – 7pm

Full Governors Meeting

Wednesday 26th June  - am

Year 6 – Fast forward Re:Wind at St Paul’s Church

Thursday 27th June-

Hawk (am), Eagle (pm)

Year 6 First Aid Lesson delivered by external company

Thursday 27th June - pm

Gold Treat for selected children

Saturday 29th June - am

Selected children to be involved in BVA Summer Fair and parade (further details to follow)

Tuesday 2nd July

Transition Day (children to move to their new class and meet their new teacher)

New Nursery and Reception children to visit school

Wednesday 3rd July

Year 6 additional transition day at BBG (for children going to BBG)

Wednesday 3rd July

Year 3 school trip to Go Ape (details to follow)

Thursday 4th July

9am

9:15am

1:15pm

2:00pm

Sports Day (parents invited to watch)

Nursery

Key Stage Two

Key Stage One

Reception

Tuesday 9th July

Year 4 school trip to Missions Out

Tuesday 9th July -am

Harry Potter Potions workshop for Year 5

Wednesday 10th July

Reception school trip to Ponderosa

Wednesday 10th July – 2pm to 6:30pm

Nursery Parents Evening

Wednesday 10th July – 6pm

Governors Standards and Effectiveness Committee meeting

Thursday 11th July

Year 1 & Year 2 school trip to Yorkshire Wildlife Park

Thursday 11th July, 10:30am to 1pm

Year 6 girls football competition, selected children (details to follow)

Friday 12th July – all day and evening

Year 6 leavers event (details to follow)

Friday 12th July

School reports to be brought home

Week beginning 15th July 

Monday 15th at 2:45pm

Tuesday 16th at 2:45pm

Wednesday 17th 2:45pm

New Class parent’s information meetings (20 / 25 mins)

Year 5 / Year 6

Year 3 / Year 4

Year 1 / Year 2

Tuesday 16th July – 1:15pm & 7pm

Year 6 end of year production (letter with further details to be sent nearer the time)

Wednesday 17th July - am

Nursery fun morning at Diddy Middy’s

Wednesday 17th July

                                       -9:30am

             -10:20am

             -11:15am

End of Year Services at St Paul’s Church

Rec, Year 1 and Year 2

Year 3, Year 4, Year 5

Year 6

Friday 19th July – 1:05pm

End of Year Assembly (children only)

SCHOOL CLOSES FOR HOLIDAYS ON FRIDAY 19th JULY

(MONDAY 21st JULY  - INSET DAYS)

 

N.B Cardiac screening in school on Saturday 20th and Sunday 21st July (see Parentmail for further details).

 

N.B Please note that Y6 SATS week is week beginning 13th May 2024. Year 1 phonics screening and Year 4 multiplication-tables check will take place week beginning 10th June 2024. Assessments for Y2, Y3, Y4, Y5 will take place week beginning 17th June 2024.  Children need to be in school during these weeks. Any holidays taken during these times will be unauthorised and a fine will be issued.