Birkenshaw CE (C) Primary School

Birkenshaw CE (C) Primary School images

Foundation Stage Curriculum

The Foundation Stage

The children in Nursery and Reception follow a programme of study based on the  ’Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum 2012’. There are seven areas of experience within this phase: These are split into three prime areas and four specific areas. 

Prime Areas :

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development

Specific Areas 

  • Literacy  ( Reading and Writing)
  • Mathematics (Numbers, Shape, Space and Measure)
  • Understanding of the World (includes ICT)
  • Expressive Art and Design

There is a greater emphasis on the child learning through a wide range of carefully planned, first hand, practical experiences and structured play. Children in Reception are also taught in more formal carpet sessions and groups for Literacy and Maths. We use an online system called Tapestry to record observations of children's learning

The Early Years team have worked hard to develop the outdoor areas in Nursery and Reception. We have had a new canopy and artificial grass installed which allows the children to access our outdoor space in all weathers.

Word icon Click on this link to view the Development Matters and Early Learning Goals

Word icon Click on this link to view the long term overview for Reception

Word icon Click on this link to view the long term overview for Nursery

Click on this link below to view '50 things to do before you're 5'!50thingstodobefore5/whats-it-all-about


If you would like any further information please contact your child's class teacher.